Why Pugs?

Lexie with the ball I gave her for her birthday

Yesterday my family celebrated the second birthday of everyone’s favorite family member: Lexie!

For Lexie’s first birthday we had a big Halloween/costume party, but this year was more low-key. We just had a few people over  for dinner and cupcakes. Lexie had no idea it was her birthday or why she got to eat cupcakes today, but I think she loved it. :)

People generally think my family is CRAZY when it comes to pugs. Our first pug, Jasmine, lived for 16.5 years. We still miss her, but then we got Lexie 6 months later. The pug void was just too big. I know other people think it’s crazy to celebrate your dog’s birthday or to give your dog Christmas gifts, but really she’s a member of the family. And for those people who think pugs are ugly, let me give you a few reasons why you might consider getting a pug (and I do think some pugs are really ugly, but our family only gets cute ones…and sometimes we say pugs are so ugly they’re cute).

Why a pug?

1. Pugs are perfect-sized companions. Pugs are the largest of the toy breeds, so they’re not so tiny that you’re afraid you’re going to step on them, but they’re not so large that you can’t pick them up when they’re full grown (Which would be an issue when they get old and can barely walk up the stairs. We didn’t have that problem with Jasmine since we could easily lift her.) Pugs are great lap dogs and also won’t take up half your bed (if you let your dog sleep with you)–although Lexie likes to sleep on people’s heads, which is another problem in itself. Also, smaller dogs mean smaller poop & less food to buy.

2. Pugs are great with children. When we got our first pug, I was in second grade, my sister in first, and my brother was a toddler. Needless to say, we were kind of rough with the dog (and there are videos to prove it—like me spinning the dog around through the air while she held on to a frisbee with her teeth & then watching her fly off the frisbee). But we never had a problem with either pug being aggressive toward children (or other dogs). Pugs are so gentle and mild-mannered, which doesn’t make them great guard dogs (though they can be good watch dogs), but it does make them a great family pet. Even when they growl at you (like if you’re trying to take away their toy), we know they won’t actually bite.

3. Pugs are great for the less-active lifestyle. I run a lot, but pugs are

Lexie & me on her 2nd birthday

NOT running dogs. Although, Lexie has actually done a 5k (she did a turkey trot last year) and she was still energized afterwards, so I may be able to run 5ks with her in cooler weather. She’s also still in the puppy stage so she LOVES walks and being outside. I contrast this with Jasmine. Once we were walking back from the park and Jasmine jumped into the empty baby stroller and rode home. In either of these stages though, pugs don’t need nearly as much exercise as other breeds. So if your lifestyle doesn’t really involve taking your dog out on runs or long walks or playing outdoors everyday, then you should consider a pug to fit that lifestyle.

4. Pugs are proof that God has a sense of humor. I read this quote somewhere before, but unfortunately I can’t remember the attribution. It’s true though–I know pugs aren’t the funniest-looking dogs, but they’re up there. Pugs are also a great source of humor. We’ve had so many laughs because of things our pugs have done. Pugs–and all dogs, really–bring so much joy into your life. I can’t imagine life without one. I wish I had a video of all the crazy noises Lexie makes when she gets excited.

I could go on and on with my list, but if you really want to know more about pugs, feel free to leave me a note in the comments below. While I’m not living with a pug right now, Gerald and I do plan on getting one someday (that’s like a requirement to marry anyone in my family…haha). He actually wants to get a black and a fawn pug though. I’ll leave you with a few more photos from Lexie’s birthday to enjoy!

Someone's ready for her cupcake!

Yummy pumpkin flavor

What do you love about your pet (or pug)?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by beatccreborah on October 21, 2011 - 12:47 pm

    BEST POST EVER (i’m a fellow pug owner/fanatic)

  2. #3 by Melissa on October 21, 2011 - 5:48 pm

    I was in kindergarten, not 1st grade.

    • #4 by Guba on October 23, 2011 - 8:37 pm

      and that’s all she writes haha

    • #5 by Christy on October 24, 2011 - 10:01 am

      Sorry, I couldn’t remember!

  3. #6 by MEW on October 21, 2011 - 10:39 pm

    This is a wonderful tribute to our precious pugs, Jasmine and Lexie! Thanks for using your writing talents to tell the world how awesome pugs are and how our family does not seem quite complete without one! Pugs also demonstrate everyday what it means to love unconditionally, be joyful always, and to have faith in your master who cares for you.

  4. #7 by lifevesting on October 31, 2011 - 3:50 pm

    I agree! Pugs are the best dogs! They are such wonderful companions (and mine has run a 5K with me before but now that he’s 2 and a half he can’t do more than about a mile without getting pooped).

    • #8 by Christy on October 31, 2011 - 3:55 pm

      Your pug ran a 5k!? Ours walked one, but I’d love to run a 5k with her. She just turned 2 though so I hope she can keep this energy up. Maybe I’d have to do a spring race with her before it gets too hot.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,098 other followers

