On Waiting

12/23/10 - Chicago Union Station after getting engaged

Around this time last year I was anxiously waiting. I can’t even explain the emotions I felt, but anyone who has waited for something good and exciting to come–a specific thing–knows the feeling I’m talking about. Lisa Velthouse‘s recent blog post reminded me of those feelings. She captured my thoughts perfectly as she wrote:

“…with all of my breath I have been waiting. Wishing. Wanting. Hoping. Praying that it would happen. And what I have been telling myself is that if this something were to come true it might possibly change my whole life for the better.”

The event I was waiting for was a marriage proposal. I knew it was coming soon because I knew Gerald had talked to my parents about it around Thanksgiving. He probably shouldn’t have given me so much detail because that made the waiting harder. I knew he was looking for an engagement ring because we’d shopped for one together. I knew we were going on a series of dates around Christmas time so I wouldn’t know when the actual proposal was coming (sneaky, but it drove me crazy with anticipation). I was putting so much hope and anticipation for the day I would get engaged knowing that moment would change my life forever and feeling like my life would somehow be more complete once it happened.

Well, that proposal came. We got engaged on December 23, 2010–a year ago today. The event was actually a little anti-climactic because I didn’t even realize what was happening until Gerald practically told me in the poem he wrote. I didn’t have those feelings of anticipation right before because I was being grumpy in the car on the way to the proposal site. If I had known what was going to happen, my attitude would’ve been completely different.

With Christmas just a few days away and the season of Advent coming to an end, we remember God coming to earth in the form of a baby. Since that first Christmas, we’re now also supposed to be anticipating Christ’s return to Earth as the conquering king. Advent is supposed to remind us to look toward that future coming with great expectations. We know what’s going to happen (read Revelation), but we don’t seem to care as much.

I’ll admit that I don’t often think about Christ’s Second Coming, nor do I wait anxiously for it to arrive. Instead, I’m more focused on what I have going on in my everyday life and the hustle and bustle of the Christmas season. Christ’s return seems so far away, and yet we’re told that He can come at any time when we least expect it. I’m not sure if I’ll feel the same kind of anxious anticipation about Christ’s return as I did about getting engaged, but I think if I try to focus my attention on things with eternal value, I will be desiring and anticipating that return with more urgency and with greater expectation.

For with engagement came joy, but also stresses and more hard work; but with Christ’s return all the wrongs in this world will finally be made right. And then our lives will truly be made whole.

So what are you waiting for?

Merry Christmas!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by maggierowe on December 23, 2011 - 1:05 pm

    Enjoyed your post, Christy. A year ago today was your engagement – congratulations! What a year it has been for you and Gerald, and your friends and co-workers have vicariously shared in your joy, which has enriched our lives as well.
    When it comes to waiting, I often think of what Ben Patterson wrote in his book by that name: “At least as important as the things we wait for is what God wants to do in us as we wait.”

    Have a wonderful day today with your still-new husband! :)

    • #2 by Christy on December 27, 2011 - 9:21 am

      That’s such a great quote by Ben Patterson. I’ll have to remember that one–it’s so true. A lot has happened in this past year since getting engaged. It’s hard to believe a year has gone by so quickly. We’re enjoying the journey though!

  2. #3 by Lisa on January 2, 2012 - 9:21 am

    Am just now catching up on comments from my blog, which reminded me I should catch up on your blog! Thanks for this post, Christy. I’ve got a deployment separation in my near future, and your future-focus here and comments about anxiety are ringing true amid all of it. Great reminder to anticipate Christ’s return more than anything.

    • #4 by Christy on January 3, 2012 - 11:15 am

      Thanks for the comment, Lisa! I’ll be praying for you and Nathan in your deployment separation. That would be so hard for me and I can’t imagine how hard it is for you. I know your reunion with Nathan will be much anticipated and very sweet though.

  3. #5 by Syndicatable on January 16, 2012 - 1:11 pm

    I am enjoying your blog so much!

    • #6 by Christy on January 16, 2012 - 3:11 pm

      Thank you! I’m glad you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,116 other followers

