2012 Goals

A few years ago my young adult fellowship wrote out our goals for the new year & framed them so we would remember them. The goals were in categories (spiritual, physical, family/personal & other). Today I’m posting my goals publicly. That means you all can keep me accountable, which is scary but hopefully encouraging at the same time. So here are my goals for 2012 (in each of the categories):

1. To spend time with God daily. And mostly by this one I mean to FINALLY finish the One Year Bible I started reading at the beginning of 2009. I’ll admit that I don’t always do my devotions every day because I let life get in the way, but sometimes I also read other passages instead of the One Year passages (it takes one from the Old Testament, one from the New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs). But this is the year I will finish it! I’m at about September right now so it’s possible. I also just want my times with God to be more meaningful and not just like another task on my “to do” list. So I want to be in dialogue with God throughout my day too.

2. To finish a half marathon (and maybe a Sprint Triathlon). I’m already signed up to do my first half marathon this June with one of the girls in my youth group. Since I already completed the 10 miler (and that’s the long run distance you need for a half marathon), I know I can do the race. Now I just need to start building up my mileage base again and get on a training plan. I’m not going to worry about pace. I just want to finish. Ideally I’d like to finish in about 2 hours, but we’ll see what happens. :) I’d also like to do a Sprint Triathlon this summer, but we’ll see how that works out financially (races are expensive!) and training/time-wise. If not this year, then in 2013!

3. To tell my husband something I appreciate about him every day. One of Gerald’s love languages is words of affirmation, but I know I don’t verbally affirm him enough. My words aren’t always that encouraging either. I need to show him that I care about him and that I appreciate and notice the things he does–no matter how big or how small. I’ll have to continually remind myself of this goal because it will be an easy one to overlook.

4. To step out of my comfort zone at work. I want to challenge myself at work this year to get out of my comfort zone, whether it means speaking up to share an idea, volunteering to do something that I don’t necessarily want to do, or thinking outside the box to come up with a creative pitch angle for an author. When I’m able to get out of my comfort zone, not only will I learn to trust God in those situations more, but I think I’ll also learn and grow more professionally.

Do you have any goals/resolutions for 2012? If not, consider coming up with a goal in categories like I did (spiritual, physical, family/personal, professional). We’ll check back at the end of the year to see how we did!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Jess on January 2, 2012 - 10:19 am

    My uncle told me about youversion. It’s a free bible app and they have a bunch of different types of reading the bible in a year. I just started a couple days ago. So we can keep each other accountable there!

    • #2 by Christy on January 3, 2012 - 11:13 am

      I have YouVersion too! Will definitely help to keep you accountable too! :)

  2. #3 by maggierowe on January 4, 2012 - 2:30 pm

    Great post, Christy. I just signed up to use the OY BIble Wiki with others here at work. I didn’t finish last year – am set to try again. And your post inspired me to be brave enough to publicly state my “resolution” this year – what I’m calling the YOLU. Let the games begin! :)

    • #4 by Christy on January 4, 2012 - 4:15 pm

      Thanks, Maggie. I hope you’re able to do your YOLU challenge as best you can this year. Accountability is a great motivator, but Christ is the enabler!

  3. #5 by Patrick C Marks on January 17, 2012 - 5:02 pm

    I have to say I LIKE resolution #4 (I am, after all, a husband) But really I point it out because it’s easy to get out of the habit of giving affirmations, to take someone for granted and we have to consciously find those affirmative things. If we don’t we risk hardening of heart. The Bible says “only speak those things which are edifying” but when we get into a committed relationship we often forget that, don’t we? I hope you maintain that resolution for a very, very long time.

    • #6 by Christy on January 17, 2012 - 5:38 pm

      Thanks, Patrick. It’s hard to keep that resolution at the front of my mind. And while I may have already failed at remembering daily, it helps remind me to be more intentional about building up my husband.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,050 other followers

