Slow Cooker Whole Roast Chicken – Chinese Style

love my slow cooker. We registered for one for our wedding because I knew it would be helpful for those nights where we get home from work and need to eat quickly to rush off to church for youth group. Gerald’s aunt gave us the slow cooker as a bridal shower gift and I’ve been putting it to good use ever since. It’s so nice to quickly (or sometimes not so quickly) prep the food in the morning or the night before and then come home to a ready-made meal. It’s especially handy when I go for a longer run after work (and then get home late) and when we’ve needed to eat quickly and rush off somewhere.
This recipe is one of our favorites. I got it from one of the women in our small group who made this one night for our small group meal. Everyone loved it and I was excited to see it was a slow cooker meal and that it’s so easy to make. Ever since then, this dish has been a regular around our household. I’m mostly putting it up here so I don’t have to keep searching for it in my email, but hopefully some of you will try it out and enjoy it too. (My pictures are not that professional, so I apologize!)
Ingredients:
3-4lb Roast Chicken (washed and rinsed, remove and discard stuff inside)
Sauce – Mix together the following:
1 Tbsp. hoisin sauce
5 Tbsp. sugar
1.5 Tbsp. garlic salt
1 Tbsp. garlic powder
2 Tbsps. oyster sauce
Salt & Pepper to season chicken 
Enough sherry to thin the sauce for spreading on the chicken, but should still be a thick consistency like oatmeal
Directions:
1. Take prepared Roast Chicken and place in Slow cooker.
2. Pour 1/2 cup water into slow cooker.
3. Manually rub Sauce over chicken
4. Cook 8 hrs on LOW on slow cooker
When I make this chicken, I like to make the sauce the night before so I can just rub it on the chicken in the morning. Usually I mix all the dry ingredients together first.
Then I add the sauces.
Put in a little bit of sherry (or you can leave this step out) and mix everything together. You can see it’s still thick.
When you’re ready to cook the chicken, rinse it and clean it out if you need to. The chickens I buy are already cleaned out, so I’m glad I don’t have to worry about that part. :) The recipe says to season it with salt and pepper, but I don’t always do this because with the hoisin and oyster sauces, it’s already quite salty. We don’t need that much sodium.
This is the first time I’m making this using a slow cooker liner, but these are life savers with clean-up. Highly recommended.
Rub the sauce all over the chicken. I usually have extra sauce, so I just pour it over the top. Then add the 1/2 cup water and cook the chicken on low for 8 hours.
When it’s all done, you can pull the chicken apart and let the meat sit in the sauce for a little while to get more flavor. I also throw out the bones at this time.
We like to eat this with rice (we mix brown and white together) and usually some veggies. The chicken might not look that appetizing, but it tastes great.
If you try this recipe out, let me know what you think! And please, feel free to share more slow cooker recipes with me. I’m always looking for more!
, , , , ,

  1. #1 by maggierowe on November 5, 2012 - 4:48 pm

    I’m going to try your recipe for Chinese Chicken, Christy. Thanks for the step-by-step instructions! Slow cookers are great for those of us who work full-time and have zero time to cook.

    • #2 by Christy on November 5, 2012 - 6:29 pm

      Yes, that’s why I love my slow cooker! I use it a lot. Hope you like the recipe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,097 other followers

