Birthday Weekend Recap

From my first b-day celebration on Dec. 1 at Buca di Beppo

From my first b-day celebration on Dec. 1 at Buca di Beppo & then Liquid Fusion

Last weekend I celebrated my birthday, but I’m finally getting around to writing about it. I can’t believe how close 30 is getting! That doesn’t even seem possible to me. I know 30 isn’t that old, but I’ll be a little sad to leave my 20’s–this is the decade of transition and where everything big seems to happen (graduation from college, new jobs, marriage, etc.) Maybe the fact that I can still pass for being in high school (this happened not too long ago…like a few months ago) contributes to my disbelief that I’m getting older. I’ll be grateful for this youthful appearance one day (being petite doesn’t help me), but at this stage in my life, I don’t necessarily want to look older; I just want to look my age. (Sorry, side rant).

Speaking of being older, I got to spend my birthday weekend still dealing with shingles. Yes, you can get shingles in your 20’s apparently. As I waited for my prescription at the pharmacy, I noticed all the posters and information about shingles and the shingles vaccine–all geared toward adults 60 and up. How ironic that I, a young adult in my 20’s, was standing there with the disease. The antiviral medication they prescribe for shingles is the same as the one they prescribe for herpes, so one of my friends told me don’t be surprised if the pharmacists  tell you, “Be safe.” They didn’t say anything to me, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they looked at me and thought I had herpes rather than shingles. At my age, that would be the more likely guess. The strange thing is, although shingles is not supposed to be contagious (unless you’ve never had chicken pox or the chicken pox vaccine–you would get chicken pox from someone with shingles–and even then I think you’d need to be in contact with their rash), my boss just had it at the beginning of November, then I got it at the end of Nov/early Dec, and another member of our team might have it right now (but her doctor’s not completely sure if it’s shingles or not). Still…this is too much of a coincidence.

Birthdays are not nearly as exciting or anticipated when you’re older. Since my birthday was on a Saturday this year, I slept in. I would’ve gone for a run, but my shingles were bothering me. Gerald went out and brought me two cupcakes and roses though for breakfast. I got an email from Noodles & Company about a buy one, get one free dish offer if you try their new pork so we went out and had that for lunch and then went grocery shopping (my suggestion). Exciting birthday, I know! When we came home, I ended up taking a nap. Apparently when you get older, you get more tired.

Then we went out for dinner with my family in Evanston–Joy Yee’s Noodles & Argo Tea. I really just wanted to go to Argo Tea and the closest one is in Evanston. All the rest are in Chicago. They need to expand to the northern suburbs!! My family had cake back at my parents’ house so I could have my obligatory birthday picture with the pug.

28bdayThe rest of my birthday weekend was uneventful, but I did get this amazing origami Winnie the Pooh from one of the girls in my youth group!

IMG_20121209_112924

Then after church, I took Lexie out to see Santa Paws! Santa doesn’t look too jolly though.

IMAG0288
Lexie’s not looking at the camera because she was so distracted just being in a store. I even let her pick out her Christmas present afterwards. :) Yes, we’re those crazy pug people.

So this was a good way to kick off the crazy month of December. The birthdays are done. Next comes Christmas & my sister’s wedding!

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Tina@GottaRunNow on December 15, 2012 - 7:16 am

    Happy birthday to you! I found you blog through Twitter! Glad I did!

    • #2 by Christy on December 15, 2012 - 9:10 am

      Thanks,Tiffany! And thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,097 other followers

