A New Family Member!

“Saving one pug won’t change the world, but it will surely change the world for that one pug.”

- Northern Illinois Pug Rescue

Socks (left) meeting Lexie

Socks (left) meeting Lexie

This was a big weekend in the Stroud family. On Friday, Gerald called me and told me his coworker had a friend who was giving away her pug because she couldn’t take care of it and he suggested maybe we take it home. Initially he said the pug was two years old and of course, I was excited about the possibility of having a pug for free. We scheduled a time to visit the pug, Chloe, on Saturday.

My mom and her pug Lexie came to meet Chloe with Gerald and me on Saturday. Gerald’s coworker has a big, male pug named Socks. Lexie loved all the pugs! Chloe’s owner was there and she told us Chloe was actually five years old (later from her old paperwork we found out she’s really six), which made more sense to me from when I saw her picture. She’s very gray and I was sure she was older than two.

To make a long story short, we ended up bringing Chloe home with us. I’ll admit I wasn’t too sure about it, which seems funny coming from such a pug-lover. It sounds bad, but I was a little unsure because of her appearance. She’s a little scraggly and she doesn’t look like the other pugs I’ve owned (breeder pugs from show dog parents). I was also concerned about some of the eye problems she has and if we’d be able to handle any medical bills she might have coming. She’s not very trained and is almost like a puppy even though she’s six years old already.  I even told Gerald that I wasn’t sure if we should keep her.

But Gerald gently reminded me that Chloe is still a pug and she needs a good home. She’s been passed around to a few homes already, possibly a little neglected, and even had puppies at one point in her life. She probably hasn’t even been to the vet in a year or so. Gerald told me it’s like how God chose to love us despite all our ugliness and our faults. Still, God adopted us into His family. Similarly, I need to show Chloe love despite the fact that she isn’t exactly what I pictured when I thought of getting my own pug. After spending more time with Chloe, she is starting to grow on me. My mom sent me the quote at the top of this post from the Northern Illinois

Chloe with her favorite toy

Chloe with her favorite toy

Pug Rescue site late last night and it makes me teary because it’s so true. We will probably have up to 10 years with Chloe if we’re lucky, and although we didn’t get her when she was a puppy, we can give her a new and different life from what she had before. She needs love. She needs to learn what it’s like to be loved by a family. Chloe wasn’t just adopted into Gerald’s and my family, she’s coming into a whole family that loves pugs. My mom and sister are going to help us take care of her (mostly because Gerald and I aren’t home for at least 10 hours a day). So Chloe will be a much-loved pug. Lexie, who is three, will enjoy having a playmate, although Chloe actually plays with toys more than Lexie does!

Although Chloe’s a dog, this adoption was truly challenging me to look beyond outward appearances and to love her in spite of her imperfections. It really is a great picture of God’s love for us. How can I not love this pug? Hopefully we can change Chloe’s life for the better.

So enjoy a few more pictures of our new pug!

She really loves this toy

She really loves this toy

Chloe & Lexie

Chloe & Lexie

Our new family

Our new family

Our floppy-eared pug

Our floppy-eared pug

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by tiffy on February 10, 2013 - 9:34 pm

    aww this story makes me smile :) can’t wait to meet Chloe. she’s adorable!

    • #2 by Christy on February 10, 2013 - 10:38 pm

      I’m glad. :) She’ll be excited to meet you too!

  2. #3 by Stephanie Rische on February 11, 2013 - 8:07 am

    Aww, so cute! Great reminder about God’s love.

    • #4 by Christy on February 11, 2013 - 8:56 am

      Thanks, Stephanie! I always thought God uses dogs to help teach us important lessons about faith too.

  3. #5 by evliu on March 2, 2013 - 1:05 am

    Great imagery of the doctrine of Adoption [: teaches you the gospel well [: be blessed with chloe!

  4. #7 by C on June 16, 2013 - 6:36 pm

    Heard the Great News…. You are going to be a very Pretty and great Mom…

  1. Happy Birthday, Chloe! | Pressing On
  2. 5 Minutes for Mom – Ultimate Blog Party | Pressing On

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,130 other followers

