How We Told Our Families We Were Pregnant

We got my pregnancy confirmed at the end of April by the doctor at 6 weeks (I wasn’t as far along as they thought at the time of my appointment), so once a medical doctor confirmed it was really true, we decided to tell our families. It was so hard keeping that a secret before then!

With Mother’s Day coming up in May, I decided we should give our moms an early Mother’s Day gift. As a publicist at Tyndale, I worked on a book called My Grandma and Me by Crystal Bowman, which released last September. When the book came out, I bought some extra copies because I knew whenever we got pregnant, it would be the perfect way to announce our pregnancy.

Me with my mother-in-law

Me with my mother-in-law

So I wrapped the book up in a bag and we told each of our families separately by giving our moms their early Mother’s Day gift. We told my family first and my mom didn’t get the hint right away. She jokingly calls our dog, Chloe, her grandpug so my mom (and even my sister) thought we gave her the book as a joke because of that. Then I said, “You’re going to need this at the end of the year.” Of course then they were all excited. :)

We told Gerald’s parents the next day and his mom knew right away what the book meant when she opened it. This is the first grandchild for both of our families so everyone is really excited and I’m pretty sure our child is going to be spoiled.

I hope our moms do use My Grandma and Me with their new grandchild whenever they babysit! It’s a great little devotional book meant for grandmothers to use with their young grandchildren.

So if you’re looking for a cute way to announce your pregnancy to your family, consider picking up a copy of My Grandma and Me and giving it to your mom/MIL. It also just makes a great gift for grandmothers in general.

I’m also looking forward to being able to use my own new devotional with Baby this winter with My Mama and Mewritten by Crystal Bowman and her daughter Teri McKinley. It will be out this September. {For full disclosure, I’m also doing publicity for this book, but I’m also just really excited to get and use all these great kids books! A perk of working for a publisher.}

Let me know if you have any non-Tyndale children’s book suggestions as I start to build my baby library!

978-1-4143-7973-9

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Stephanie Rische on June 21, 2013 - 1:56 pm

    Great books! My mom skypes with her grandkids and they read My Grandma and Me together–they both have a copy and have so much fun reading and singing together. Congrats!

  2. #2 by evliu on June 21, 2013 - 6:02 pm

    I love it, this is pretty clever. Maybe whenever the time comes, I’ll take your advice [:

  3. #3 by Blythe on July 1, 2013 - 4:25 pm

    Hello Christy,
    I got your comment about reviewing a book. I would love to do that! Just let me know on how you want to do this.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,116 other followers

