A Week of Thankfulness

A couple weeks ago, our pastor challenged us to a week of thankfulness. One week without complaining, worrying, and all that other stuff that makes us forget about the things God has already done in our lives. With our annual youth group Thanksgiving potluck coming up this Friday, I’m going to take this week as my week of thankfulness.

It will be challenging. Whenever something goes wrong (like I feel like I’m getting sick, I’m having a pain in my knee, I’m suffering from some kind of tiny physical ailment, a situation that’s bothering me) I constantly talk (or maybe “complain” would be a better word) about it. Some people would think I don’t really complain about much, but that’s because I mostly do it to the people who are closest to me…and lately that would just mean Gerald, my boyfriend. I know it drives him crazy and I know my motives for sharing those things over and over again aren’t always just so we can pray about it. It’s more for myself. I want to elicit sympathy. I want to feel justified in thinking it is a big deal. I want to know I’m not alone in thinking this way.

So this week, I will try to make a more concerted effort to take my focus off myself and my needs/worries/wants, and I’ll turn my attention toward God, reminding myself of the ways He has already worked and how He is always faithful in my life. I’m not going to post about these things everyday this week, but maybe I’ll post once or twice about some specific things I am thankful for. We should be thankful in everything, but we’re not. Hopefully this challenge can begin building a good habit that will last a lifetime.

Will you take up this challenge to a week of thankfulness?

, ,

  1. #1 by maggierowe on November 15, 2010 - 2:03 pm

    Wonderful post, Christy, even though I had to look twice to make sure you were the author. That’s because I never hear you complain about anything, yet you are so patient in listening to all my ” bad shoulder” stories. In Barry Black’s upcoming book The Blessing of Adversity, he tells how his father answered all inquiries with “Can’t complain.” I am trying to incorporate that into my life as well. I will take you up on the challenge this week!

    Thanks for the thought-provoking post.

    Maggie

    • #2 by Christy on November 15, 2010 - 3:00 pm

      Thanks, Maggie. I’m glad you’re taking up the challenge too! Sometimes all the complaining I’ll do be to myself…and we know how that can affect our attitudes at times. I don’t mind listening to you talk about your shoulder. If I did, I probably wouldn’t ask about it! 🙂

  1. Tweets that mention A Week of Thankfulness « Pressing On -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

