The Stress of The Dress

I haven’t updated in a while, but that’s because I’ve been busy starting out in the wedding planning process (and I didn’t really have any good ideas for updates lately). Since my upcoming wedding will be taking up most of my time these next six months (190 days to be exact), much of this blog content will be wedding related–beginning with this post.

Wtoo Zora

I’m currently in a crunch to find THE dress. Several bridal store consultants (as well as what I’ve read online) say it can take 4-6 months to order a gown, so I really need to find one I love soon if I want to get it in time for my July wedding. Needless to say, this is our big priority right now and it’s not an easy task.

There are a few factors that make it a little more difficult (for me):

  • My Size: I’m very petite (around 5′ tall) and most gowns I try on (okay, more like all of them) are way too big on me. It’s hard to find something that looks good on a small frame. The websites and magazines all say A-line or sheath for petite brides. I’d agree, but when I try on gowns, I think I like the sheath silhouette much better. I’m even starting to go for trumpet gowns now when I didn’t think I’d like that style (as long as it’s not really poofy at the bottom).
  • My specifications: As I mentioned, I don’t want a really ball gown-y dress. I never really liked that style as much. I also am looking for v-neck or halter necklines. There don’t seem to be as many gowns out there like that. Most are shoulder-less. Those look fine on me too, but they’re not as flattering. The v-necks seem to elongate my body more, which is good for someone short like me. I didn’t really like lace much before, but after trying on a lace gown, I’m mostly looking at all-lace gowns now. Since I’m petite, I also want a shorter train (like a sweep train). I don’t want the dress to overwhelm me (and I don’t really want to have to pay to bustle it…haha).
  • Budget – Of course this should be a factor. I don’t want to spend thousands of dollars on a wedding gown that I’ll only wear once, but since we started shopping for gowns, we realized we may have to increase the budget a little bit to get something that I really love and not something that I’m just settling for because it’s cheaper.

Sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever have that moment–the one where you just KNOW that this is your gown. I’m not sure if there will be tears. So far there haven’t really been any from me, my mom, or my sister, but I guess you never know. Maybe that just means we haven’t found it yet.

These are the designers I’ve been looking at: Allure, Essense of Australia, WtooAllure Couture Style C153

I’m looking forward to my next few bridal gown appointments because I’ll get to try some of these designers on, but I’m also starting to get tired of looking. So if anyone has any gown shopping ideas for me, let me know!

Also, my fiancé wants to wear a white tux, which would work with our black and white color scheme. I’m trying to figure out how a white vest, white tie, white jacket ensemble would look. I’ve seen some pictures of a white tie with a white vest and it looks like the vest should have some sort of pattern on it to make it stand out. Anyone have pictures of this or comments?

AND…today happens to be a special day because it’s Gerald’s 25th birthday!!

 

 

So happy birthday!! 🙂 This is the man I’m going to marry in 190 days!

If anyone has good money-saving wedding tips, I’m open to hearing them!

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by maggierowe on January 21, 2011 - 4:42 pm

    I love all the styles you have pictured, and you will look terrific in whatever you ultimately choose. Might help to remember that there is not just one perfect gown out there but likely several that will fit the dream-dress category.
    Mike wore a white suit, vest, shirt for our wedding 35 years ago and he wore it again (minus the vest) for our 25th celebration.

    So fun to follow your plans and share your JOY!

    And you have already made the second best choice of all – marrying Gerald. (God beats him out as #1!) 🙂

    Maggie

    • #2 by Christy on January 24, 2011 - 10:30 am

      Thanks, Maggie. We’re looking at two more places this week, so a decision could be made soon! Gerald actually decided now to go back to just a black tux. My dad actually had a white suit in his wedding too!

  2. #3 by dressingmyself on January 22, 2011 - 2:20 am

    Have you considered having a dress made? You might get a much better fit.

    • #4 by Christy on January 24, 2011 - 10:29 am

      No, I’m not really thinking of doing that. My sister is actually a fashion design major, so it’s too bad she can’t make a dress for me, but it’s probably going to be easier to find a style gown I like and then just get it altered. Then I don’t have to worry about doing that whole process…especially since we only have 6 months now.

  3. #5 by Nikole Hahn on January 22, 2011 - 7:01 pm

    I did my own flowers, used a club house in a housing development because it was free, kept it to just family with the exception of a few friends (80 total), found a dress for $99, but was looking for a white prom dress, and created my own centerpieces to give as gifts afterwards to those that helped and to the mothers of the bride and groom, and piled more money into the honeymoon than in the wedding. I figured it wasn’t worth bringing more debt to a new marriage and we ended up paying in cash for everything–no credit. I moved out of my apartment to live with my grandmother so I can put my paychecks towards the wedding without having to pay rent.

    The photos and home movies were done as a gift from a relative and a friend of the family. The cake was only $150, triple tier, with a fountain…I provided the silk roses to trail down the cake. Silk was cheaper than real flowers. Even carnations at the flower shop were too much. Boutineres were made by me. I met my husband in a cafe. We had been communicating via the internet matched up by friends whom we worked with, and I met him at the cafe with a rose in a book (that’s how he would know me).

    My bridesmaids carried a rose in a journal. The journal had a personal note from me. The dresses were made by my mom and we chose dresses they could like and wear elsewhere instead of something they’d hate. The fabric was $80 per dress (satin and lace). I carried an old Bible that belonged to someone in our family line. It came from Jerusalem. My stepdad picked up a red rose and I carried a Bible and a red rose down the aisle.

    There were no limos or red carpet. Our pastor did an evangelistic sermon mixed in with the vows. My sister sung at the wedding. The candles were bought at the Candle Factory and the silk flowers and vines all came from Michaels craft store.

    A simple wedding, in my opinion, is great on the pocketbook and keeps things focused on the couple in love. Not to say, I am against beautiful extravagant weddings, but it’s not worth carrying a whole lot of debt into a new marriage. Also, my husband and I planned it together. We compiled our paychecks together and began to put our households together.

    Hope this helps!

    One more thing…ENJOY. Don’t let anyone tell you what to do for your wedding! Tempers can get kind of short. Maybe it’s just my family? LOL

    • #6 by Christy on January 24, 2011 - 10:36 am

      That’s awesome, Nikole! We definitely don’t want to be too focused on the wedding day itself because we know we need to be preparing for the marriage afterwards. We’re having friends film the ceremony and tape at the reception and the photographer is one of my sister’s friends from college (much cheaper than a professional and she takes great pictures). I also want my bridesmaids to be able to wear their dresses again (which shouldn’t be too hard since they’re going to be black–every woman needs a black dress!). I’m also planning on not doing RSVP cards and having people RSVP online to save on extra postage. We’re not doing a DJ or anything, but just using our computers to run music through speakers. I am kind of splurging on the flowers, but I also think the quote our florist gave us isn’t too bad for all that we’re asking for. Our cake is also included in the price of our reception venue and I actually only want one tier of cake and cupcakes underneath.

      I’ve heard people say their wedding day was not the happiest day of their lives, but it was the days afterwards that were even better. So I’m just going to enjoy the process, the day, and the lifetime that builds off of it all. Thanks for your suggestions! I may look into silk flowers for some additional decorations too.

  1. Tweets that mention The Stress of The Dress « Pressing On -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

