Turning the Page

After finishing the Soldier Field 10 Miler in 1:28:46!

I’ve been MIA on the blog lately because life is picking up speed again. I’m excited to turn the page on my calendar to reveal a new month–July. Six months ago I wished July would come sooner, but now I can’t believe that I can say, “I’m getting married this month.” A few months ago I felt like I had a lot of time to prepare for the wedding, but now I’m starting to wonder how I’ll get all these details done (and finish unpacking and settling in to my new condo and read our required pre-marital counseling books) when my weekends are already filling up with two bachelorette parties, birthdays, and fellowship times.

A lot has happened since I last posted over a month ago. My last post was about my goals for the Soldier Field 10 Miler, which I’m happy to say that I reached all those goals and beat my time goal by a couple minutes. 🙂 So to help catch you up, I’ll share a few glimpses of my June.

Bridal Showers

 My first shower was hosted by my aunt, two women from church, and my bridesmaids (though only two of them could make it). I loved the Christy’s Coffeehouse theme because I do love my toffee nut lattes.

 

Toffee nut lattes are one of my favorite drinks

Tiffany, me, and Melissa (my bridesmaids & Mel's my sister too)

 A couple weeks after this first shower, the wonderful PR team at Tyndale hosted another bridal shower for me at work.

Me with members of Tyndale's PR team

 

My mom came too!

More recently, I packed up my little apartment and moved to the condo Gerald and I will be living in for the next year. Not only am I moving to a new location, but after living on my own for the past year, I know it’s going to be an adjustment for me to learn how to live with someone else again–much less, a guy. I’m so used to doing things on my own timeline, in my own way, and having things put just where I want them. Even having Gerald over has reminded me that life is not going to be like that a

So many boxes for such little stuff

month from now! I’m going to have to be a little more flexible, show a little more grace, and remind myself that things don’t always have to be done my way (there can be better ways to do things!). That’s just another thing I have to learn as I move into this next phase of life.

I’m at a very transitory time in my life. As we were moving my stuff into the new condo, Gerald kept saying how we shouldn’t get a lot more stuff because we’re only going to have to move it again soon anyway. I like consistency. I like being settled down. I’m looking forward to the day when we own our own home and can really dig our “roots” deep into it. I hate the idea of having to look for a new place to live in 9 months when I just moved in. I hate packing and I know that moving is going to be a bigger ordeal in the future now that we’ll have to move two people with a whole lot more stuff.

But I’m not going to worry about that now. For now, I’m finishing wedding preparations, preparing to jump into this thing called marriage, and to learn how to do life together with Gerald. I know that God will continue to guide us to live wherever He wants us to live and to do whatever He calls us to do.

So with July 1 now on the calendar, that’s 29 days until the wedding. I’m picking up my gown and it’s all starting to become more real. These next few weeks are going to fly by. It’s hard to believe that my life is going to be completely different 29 days from now. AND I’m no longer going to be a Wong. 😦 That’s a strange thought, but exciting at the same time. We’ll see if I get any more posts in before the wedding, but I’m looking forward to posting about my journey into young married life and beyond.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jesse on June 30, 2011 - 11:37 pm

    Excited for you, friend!

    • #2 by Christy on July 1, 2011 - 8:47 am

      Thank you!! And I brought a special treat in for you today at work! 🙂

  2. #3 by Nikole Hahn on July 1, 2011 - 8:00 am

    Such an exciting time when two become one! :o) Congrats! Maybe not unpack EVERYTHING. Store much of it. What do you both actually need in the next nine months?

    • #4 by Christy on July 1, 2011 - 8:48 am

      Well, we’ll be living here at least until next June, but it’s hard & stressful to find a new place to live and I know we’ll have to start thinking about that a few months before we’d have to move (to give a one month’s notice). But that might not be a bad idea to not unpack everything. I’m actually saving a lot of the boxes appliances came in to make for easy moving later—but then they still take up space. haha

  3. #5 by Nikole Hahn on July 1, 2011 - 2:29 pm

    True. :o) LOL

  4. #6 by friv on September 13, 2016 - 11:46 am

    Heya fantastic blog! Does running a blog such as this require a massive amount work? I have no knowledge of computer programming however I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, if you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic nevertheless I just had to ask. Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

