Race Report: The Christy Triathlon

Hanging out at the park on Friday night

This past weekend, I participated in my only race of the summer: The Christy Triathlon (aka bachelorette party #2). My sister (and maid of honor) did such a great job planning it all out and keeping it a secret. The triathlon theme was a great idea too and very fitting for me. 🙂 So you may be wondering what three events we did (because obviously they were not swimming, biking and running). Here’s this weekend’s race report!

We all met up on Friday night for some desserts and snacks. My cousin from Toronto came in and so did one of my friends from college, which was great! I didn’t see either of them at my first bachelorette party so I’m glad they made it. The Friday events weren’t part of the triathlon, but they all gave me fun things like ring pops, tattoos, stickers, glow bracelets, a little tiara, my bachelorette sash, body jewelry, leis, and bubbles. I had to wear everything.

Then we headed out to the park just to take some pictures. Of course, Lexie, our pug got to come.

Afterwards, the girls actually helped me work on putting the programs together (so they did work!!) and we tried to get to bed somewhat early because we had to leave the next morning at 5:45 AM (races start early).

To start off on Saturday, we got race bags. That was totally unexpected, but then makes total sense. They were so cute too! There were Luna bars, Hello Kitty bandaids, lip gloss, and some other stuff in there including…RACE SHIRTS!!

The front has our initials on the pocket

The backs of the shirts

My shirt says “Bride” on the back in gold letters so it’s hard to see the letters in the picture. My sister designed the logo, which looks like the Chicago Triathlon logo, but there’s an Arch & the St. Louis skyline because that’s where we went! I didn’t even realize this until I read on my race packet that it said “Race to St. Louis.”

Event 1: Explore
After a 5 hour drive to St. Louis, we arrived at the City Museum downtown. This is like a giant playground for kids (and adults). We got to climb around on stuff (some of which was kind of scary) and explore the museum. Our shirts got all hot and sweaty since it’s really hot in the Midwest lately. We went down giant slides, crawled through caves, and climbed in a giant tree.

Climbing through the trees

Surfing on the giant whale fin

Event 2: Relax
We went to our hotel to cool off in the pool and to relax in the hot tub followed by dinner at the hotel (which was free!) and 3 free drinks for each of us. Good deal. 🙂

Event 3: Taste
We finished off the night by visiting the famous St. Louis Arch and then went to have frozen custard at Ted Drewes. I’ve been to

Yummy frozen custard

Ted Drewes before, but this time I saw they happen to have a specialty called CHRISTY! So of course I got that. It was a frozen brownie with vanilla ice cream, hot fudge, and caramel. So yummy but very rich so I didn’t finish it all. 

Our bachelorette party is pretty G-rated, so we ended up going back to the hotel and playing Bananagrams and watching Legally Blonde, which happened to be on TV. Then Sunday, we had breakfast at the hotel, packed up, and headed home.

It was a great, relaxing weekend. I enjoyed getting to spend time with the girls (two of which I don’t see very often!) and just not really thinking as much about wedding stuff. Now we’re 10 days away, so it’s crunch time on some of these things–but first I have to finish this last week of work.

I’m getting excited for the big day to finally arrive. I can’t believe it’s here already, actually. It seems like just yesterday when Gerald and I got engaged and started planning. But I’m also ready for all the wedding planning to be over so I can enjoy the marriage that follows. 🙂

The Arch!

All the girls

 

, , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

