One Month

Gerald and I have now been married for exactly one month! That time has just flown by. We’re back to regular life now–I’ve been back to work for three weeks and Gerald just started back at work this week (he works in a school). So far life together has been great. Already in this first month, there are a few things I’m discovering about myself in my new role as a wife:

  • I’m enjoying cooking! I used to feel like Gerald and I would split the cooking more evenly at home, but for the most part, I’ve been doing nearly all the cooking. Not because Gerald’s not willing, but because I want to cook for him. I’ve been proud of myself for trying new recipes (so all those cookbooks people gave us are coming in handy!) instead of just making the same meals over & over again (which I used to do when I lived alone this past year). My bridesmaid and college roommate told me how much she enjoys cooking for her husband because it’s her way of demonstrating love to him and now I can see what she means. I feel the same way. We’ll see if it stays that way though once we start having kids. πŸ˜›
  • Grace abounds. During our last premarital counseling session our pastor told me that he has seen how I’ve become more gracious (or willing to give grace) in these past few years of dating. I think I’ve seen how giving grace is more important in these first few weeks. I’ve been willing to just overlook clothes all over the floor, do the dishes myself, clean the bathroom counter or the hair in the drain, let the toilet seat stay up…among other things. I don’t know if I’m just being more gracious because we’re newlyweds and I’m trying to avoid conflict, but we’ve had our share of conflict in the dating years and I think it may be more that I’m just realizing that some things are not that big a deal and it’s okay. I can be willing to do things to help Gerald out. He does things that I don’t want to do like take out the trash, kill all the bugs, etc. He even did some cleaning for us last week before people came over since I was working and he was home. I know I’m also more aware of the way I ask Gerald to do things like pick up his clothes, for example. I’m trying to be more aware of my tone and the way I ask things so they don’t come across as critical and demanding (a problem that used to lead to many more arguments). Marriage is a teaching tool from God about His love for us and how we can demonstrate that to others!
  • I love doing life together. No more phone conversations at night when we were both tired from days at work. All we have to do is come home and we get to just “be” together. We have our daily conversations, but I also just appreciate always having Gerald there even if we’re not doing anything together at the moment. It’s just a comfort knowing that he’s around. He’s my partner, my best friend, and my husband. It’s wonderful knowing you have someone who is there to support you and be with you through all of life. πŸ™‚
We’ve had a busy and full first month together, so here are some photos just to show you what we’ve been up to.
First, a couple days after the wedding, we went on our honeymoon to the Dreams Palm Beach resort in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. It’s such a beautiful and green country, but definitely poor. As we drove through the countryside it reminded me of being in Mexico by seeing how the people live compared to how we were living in the resort (all-inclusive!). That’s definitely not the typical Dominican life. We did have Tropical Storm Emily around for a little while which led to some on and off rain and some cloudiness, but the beginning and end of the vacation were nice & sunny, which led to HORRIBLE sunburn on our last full day. By then we were ready to go home!

We had dinner every night at one of the themed restaurants on the resort.

Dinner at Portofino, the Italian restaurant

Our first excursion was the Bavarro Runners, which we would HIGHLY recommend if you go to Punta Cana. You basically go on a tour of the countryside to see more of the DR and get to experience lots of Dominican history and life. Plus the traditional Dominican food they gave us for lunch was SO GOOD.

Horseback riding on one of our excursions!

Gerald drinking sugar cane juice on the Bavarro Runners tour.

 

The other excursion we went on was the Marinarium. It was a snorkeling trip where we got to swim around the reef for a while and see lots of fish. Then we went into this special aquarium in the middle of the ocean to swim with sharks and sting rays. I would’ve liked it more if it wasn’t so cloudy on this day. After snorkeling they take you to a shallower part of the ocean to swim and they sort of have a swim up bar, but the water was FREEZING!! I did like eating fresh coconut on the boat though!

Us with a sting ray!

Here you can kind of tell how sunburned we were. You can’t tell that it hurt every time I moved when my clothes rubbed against the burn. Next time, I’m going to spend a little more time in the shade!!

Drinks for the road. Goodbye, Punta Cana!

This past Saturday, Gerald and I held a second wedding reception at our church for a lot of the youth group members and members of our young adult fellowship that we couldn’t invite to our wedding. A lot of people who came to our wedding came to this reception too, but that’s alright. This is one event I DID NOT plan for (shocker, I know). We just kind of threw it together the week of. I even made a little photo slideshow from the wedding 15 minutes before the reception began (thank you, iMovie)! Either way though, it still turned out great. Special thanks to our parents for helping out too.

Centerpieces

The good thing was I got to reuse a lot of the things we used for the rehearsal dinner and for the wedding (like the picture frames and other pictures I hung up). I also wore all my wedding jewelry again and Gerald wore the new free suit he got from Men’s Warehouse (since we rented so many tuxes for the wedding).

Our wedding cake!

My mom surprised us by having Lovin’ Oven Cakery remake our wedding cake! We only had a top tier of cake at the wedding anyway (the rest was cupcakes). It still looked just as amazing & tasted great too!

Us with our new cake (& the pug came too)

Cutting the cake (again)

This time, Gerald put some frosting on my face after cutting the cake. It was a little awkward and weird doing it again, but that cake is worth it.

Group Shot

Thanks to everyone who came out to celebrate with us again or for the first time. We love you!
One month of marriage down, and hopefully many more to come!
, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Nikole Hahn on August 31, 2011 - 7:56 am

    Sound like you two are starting your marriage off on the right foot! Beautiful honeymoon. :o) My husband also does the cleaning and stuff when I cannot. :o)

    • #2 by Christy on August 31, 2011 - 9:00 am

      Thanks, Nikole! It’s good to have a husband who’s willing to help out too. πŸ™‚

  2. #3 by evliu on September 19, 2011 - 6:32 pm

    Glad you guys are having such an amazing time married [: As things also get more serious for me and my love, we have been doing some research here and there, so your experience is definitely helpful [: i can’t believe we were once in HS just talking and now time has flown by so fast!!! it’s been like almost 10 years!!! congrats again and have an amazing, God-glorifying marriage! ~Everest

    • #4 by Christy on September 22, 2011 - 2:28 pm

      Thanks, Ev! Time does fly. I didn’t know you were dating someone–best to you and her as you embark on that journey together and potentially a future marriage!

      • #5 by evliu on September 23, 2011 - 9:16 pm

        thanks Christy [: i showed her your blog and she loved it [: feel free to write more about early-stage marriage so we can learn from it [:

      • #6 by Christy on September 23, 2011 - 9:27 pm

        I will now that I have a request!

  3. #7 by C on November 3, 2011 - 10:25 pm

    hey. Do you have more pics of Putana Cana, I might want to go there with my future wife, Btw you are very very Pretty.

Leave a Reply

