Recipe: Caribbean Chicken

My little brother, who recently accepted a job at General Mills (also where he did his summer internship), gave Gerald and me a General Mills cookbook at our wedding shower. I made good use of this soon after our wedding by trying out lots of new recipes (I’m still doing that, though not as often) and quickly found one of the husband’s new favorites: Caribbean chicken.

He would have us eat this every week. Although I haven’t made it weekly, I have been making it quite often, so I thought I’d share the recipe. It’s really easy to make and I usually serve it with rice and some kind of veggie.

Caribbean Chicken
Chicken Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups Fiber One cereal (or any kind of corn flakes)
2 teaspoons jerk seasoning (dry)
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts (about 1 1/4 lb.) – we like using tenderloins so you get more flavor with the seasoning
1/2 cup buttermilk
2 tsp. Dijon mustard
1/2 tsp. red pepper sauce

Pineapple Salsa Ingredients:
1 can (8 oz) crushed pineapple in juice, undrained
1/4 C. chopped red bell pepper
1/4 C. chopped apricots or papaya, if desired
1 tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro
1 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. lemon juice

Instructions:
1. Heat oven to 400 degrees F. Spray cookie sheet with cooking spray. Place cereal in resealable plastic bag; seal bag and finely crush with rolling pin or meat mallet (or crush in food processor). Place cereal in shallow dish. Stir in jerk seasoning.

Jerk seasoning mixed with the cereal

2. In large resealable food-storage plastic bag, place chicken, buttermilk, mustard & pepper sauce. Seal bag; shake well. Remove chicken from bag; coat with cereal mixture. Place on cookie sheet.

Chicken ready to go in the oven

3. Bake 14-16 minutes or until juice of chicken is clear when center of thickest part is cut (170 degrees F). Meanwhile, mix salsa ingredients. Cover; refrigerate until serving time. Serve with chicken.

Ready to eat!

The first time I made this, I made the pineapple salsa with it. It was good, but lately I haven’t been taking the time to make the salsa. You should definitely try it though!

If you try this recipe, leave a comment letting me know how you like it. And if you have any good recipes to share, please let me know. I’d love to try them!

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

