Investing in Others

The current Tyndale Publicity Team

Two weeks ago we said goodbye (at least in the office) to Mavis Sanders as she retired from her position as corporate publicist at Tyndale House. I met Mavis nearly four years ago when I started working at Tyndale and gleaned much from her 40+ years of experience in Christian publishing.

As a recent college graduate, I didn’t know much about public relations (I took one Intro to PR class senior year of college) and I was clueless when it came to book publicity (who knew people actually promoted books for a living?). Mavis was so kind in sharing her knowledge of PR and the industry with me. I learned from watching her interact with people throughout the company and loved hanging around her at conferences and conventions. She literally knew everyone! I remember going to ICRS for the first time and Mavis introduced me into Francine Rivers (one of my favorite authors). Then at another ICRS a couple years later, I was walking through the hall with Mavis and we pass by Philip Yancey, who she stops to greet and introduce me to because, of course, she knows him too.

I’ve learned a lot from all the members of Tyndale PR that I’ve worked with so far (and from others in Christian publishing/book publicity), but I’ll always remember Mavis as someone who took the time to mentor me at the beginning of my career even as she was nearing the end of hers.

Our team enjoyed planning the details of the retirement party. Today I did a post at the Tyndale blog on “How to honor a Publicist.” You can read about what we did in this red carpet extravaganza and see a few photos from the event.

So thank you, Mavis, for taking the time to invest in me during our time together at Tyndale. I hope I can take what Mavis and other more experienced publicists have taught me and share that knowledge with other new and upcoming publicists. I think we all can do a little more of that with people in our lives. Don’t keep all your wisdom and experience to yourself. Use it to teach others so they can learn from your failures and successes. We’ll all be better off because of it.

How can you use your experiences to mentor someone else today?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Nikole Hahn on November 11, 2011 - 9:50 pm

    Totally agree. I’ve learned alot from the people I work with.

    • #2 by Christy on November 14, 2011 - 9:11 am

      Thanks, Nikole. It’s great to work with wonderful people.

  2. #3 by JonathanN on November 17, 2011 - 8:40 am

    Super post! I`ll send it to all my friends!

Leave a Reply

