House Hunting Part 2

Furry friend we found on one of our house visits

Over a month later, I’m finally sharing part two of our house hunting story. I’m sure the few of you who read this blog were on the edge of your seats with anticipation. 😉 I do want to do a better job of keeping this blog updated though.

So I left off with my uncle offering us the possibility of renting a house he would purchase in Illinois.We were extremely excited about this and started working with our realtor again but this time upping our budget and looking at detached homes (opposed to townhouses). We looked at so many homes online (Redfin is a great site) and spent a lot of Saturdays visiting potential homes. There were a couple we visited that we really liked and thought my uncle should put an offer on but he and his wife decided to wait. At first this was hard because we had to remember that it wasn’t our money so it wasn’t exactly our purchase, but there were also things that we didn’t necessarily love about the house (small bedrooms, the kitchen is not open to the family/living room, etc. So in the end it was a good decision.

Finally after a couple months, my uncle decided to withdraw his offer to buy a home as an investment property because the Canadian dollar was no longer stronger than the U.S. dollar. Gerald and I were disappointed. I wondered why God would let us go through all this only to come up with nothing and to end up renting our condo for another year. Looking back though it helped us to do a lot of that house hunting because now we have a better idea of what kind of home we like (and we discovered a suburb we both really like…although it’s pretty far from where we both work).

So maybe in about 5 months or so we’ll start house hunting again, but in the meantime our goal is to save for a bigger down payment. The goal would be to put at least 20% down on a home (something I got from Dave Ramsey’s site). Whatever happens though, we just have to trust that God will lead us to the right place to live–whether we buy or rent again. Yes, it’s nice to own a home, but I had to realize that it’s a luxury. It’s not a necessity. As long as I have a roof over my head, I have all I need. I don’t always believe that, but I’m trying to work on being content with what God has given me. I already have more than I need.

, ,

  1. #1 by Wannabe Green on October 3, 2012 - 12:26 am

    Nice Blog………..! Very informative thanx for sharing this awesome information.
    Cat is also looking cute in this pic

  2. #2 by evliu on October 25, 2012 - 1:23 am

    I’ve decided to also hold back on buying a house too. With the election around the corner, it also might be wise to wait a bit, and it increases the 20% rate as you look [: I’ve done much research in home buying in the last year [: Be blessed, my friend; it is a sober mindset to not believe that we deserve a home of our own, especially as sojourners in this foreign land [: But if God wills it, then let it be [:

    • #3 by Christy on November 1, 2012 - 10:04 am

      Thanks for the reminder, Ev!

  1. In Everything, Give Thanks « Pressing On

Leave a Reply

