Reunion

Snapshots from Homecoming weekend

Last weekend I went back to Taylor University for my 5 year reunion. I hadn’t been on campus in at least three years, so I was excited to see all the new things they built and to see some old friends. I was a little sad that none of my close college friends were going to be back on campus, but Rachael, who was my roommate for three years, happens to live near Taylor still, so I at least got to see her. 🙂

My husband was on a 3-day overnight trip with the 5th graders at his school, so he was exhausted by the time he got home on Friday. He was still a good sport though and came with me to Indiana for Homecoming weekend. We got a later start leaving than I wanted, but I think that helped us miss rush hour traffic. I just didn’t like driving in the dark the entire time (country roads at night = pitch black) and arriving at 11:30 p.m.

I woke up early Saturday morning for the Homecoming 5k (I gave Gerald the option to sleep in, which he did). I never ran this race while I was in college because I hated running back then. I’m still amazed at what I’ve accomplished as a runner over the past three years. So it was fun to be able to come back and run a race on campus. The race was very low-key. They didn’t even have chip timing, but they did have a clock and you were supposed to pay attention to your own time as you crossed the finish line. Luckily for me, I had my trusty Garmin to help out too. The race started out too fast and I wasn’t able to keep the sub-8 pace, so I knew I wouldn’t get a PR. My final time was 24:36 (splits: 7:48, 8:07, 7:55, 0:44 for the last 0.11 miles). So not bad, but not my best. My training schedule hasn’t been working out too well for the Turkey Trot 8k either because of weather, schedules, etc…but that’s another story.

After the race, I went back to the hotel to get Gerald. We ate breakfast there and then headed back to campus to browse the

Heidi & me at the 5-Year Reunion Cookout

bookstore and explore the new science building. The science building is AMAZING. I wish it was there when I was a student! I wouldn’t have had many classes in there, but still. I love how they have all these verses and quotes on the walls. It’s very cool. Then we went to my 5 year reunion cookout at the President’s house. There weren’t a ton of people there from my class, but it was a good number. It’s weird seeing people there now with their spouses and kids. I guess we’re getting older! I even randomly ran into my friend Heidi. She wasn’t in my graduating class, but they let her come to the cookout anyway.We went to the football game (another activity I rarely did when I was in college except for once a year for the first game). Taylor has a nice new football field with artificial turf. Very impressive. I also wanted to see the new two-lane pool, which was closed, but it was still cool to see where it was.

The highlight of the weekend for me was getting to have dinner with my old roommate Rachael and her husband Chris. They’re expecting their first baby any day now, so whether we saw them or not was dependant on when their baby decided to make his arrival. Thankfully (for me), he’s holding off and we got to spend time with these precious friends. We ate at Thai Smile, which is where I first had Thai food. Gerald and I often had Thai food together while we were dating, so I really wanted to take him here. He’d been to Taylor before, but now I finally had time to take him out to Muncie to eat. It didn’t disappoint! 🙂

Chris, Rachael, me & Gerald at Thai Smile

Overall, the weekend was enjoyable and even a little relaxing (which was good for Gerald coming off his school trip). It reminded me why I love this school. Even as I walked to the race check-in in the cold, dark morning, a man made brief conversation with me. As I waited for the race to start, one of the older alums (who graduated over 25 years ago) came up to me and started chatting. I loved seeing my communications professor, Donna, and just how she wrapped me in a big hug when she saw me. It’s this community that drew me to the school in the first place, and I know it’s going to keep me coming back. Oh, I also loved that my husband wanted to buy a Taylor hoodie. He didn’t go there, but now he wishes he did. 🙂

Looking up from the center of the new science building

The mosaic at the center of the science building

Lots of spiral stairs!

Gerald & me outside the new football stadium

 

 

, , , , ,

  1. In Everything, Give Thanks « Pressing On

Leave a Reply

