A Special Father’s Day

It’s been a while since I posted on here, but life has been a little crazy in dealing with some really tough personal stuff, unexpected condo fires (not ours, but our neighbor) and by some exciting changes. I’m not going to go into the hard things now (maybe I will years down the road), but I’ll just say that I have not had to depend on God more for strength and grace. It’s not easy, but He is walking us through it and bringing us now into a new chapter of life. This brings me to our special Father’s Day announcement:

We're having a baby!

We’re having a baby!

ChloeGuardPug

Chloe’s going to be a big sister!

We’re excited that God is blessing us with this new life and it’s also a reminder to us that He can bring beauty from what is broken. I just went to the doctor this morning and everything looks good! Gerald finally got to go to an appointment with me and hear the baby’s heartbeat. He actually recorded the audio. 🙂 I thought I was at 14 weeks, but the doctor said I was at 15, so I guess we’ll go with that. The second trimester is underway!

I’ve been blessed to not have any morning sickness at all up to this point. My mom never had it either and her mom didn’t, so I hope I continue to take after my mom. Yes, I’ve still been trying to run during my pregnancy. It was easier in the beginning until I started getting really tired and had less energy. My pace has definitely slowed down (it was anyway during the winter) and whenever I run now I just try to take it easy and listen to my body. Lately I’ve been walking more, but hopefully after the baby is born I can go on more runs with the jogging stroller and get my running fitness back.

A few other updates–I retired from my role as a youth counselor at church. It’s bittersweet because I enjoyed spending time with the kids, but I was also getting a little burned out after doing youth ministry for six years and I knew I wouldn’t be able to do it anyway if I had a baby. Gerald and I also need more time together so my Friday nights are now designated as date nights or just for us to spend time with one another (especially important before and even after baby comes). While serving in youth group is great, focusing on my marriage is more of a priority. We hadn’t been seeing much of each other during the weeks and so this time is important for us.

Hopefully I’ll be updating more frequently from now on, but we’ll see how that goes!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by maggierowe on June 17, 2013 - 1:56 pm

    Cheering all three of you on…always! You will be a fantastic mother, Christy. Your baby is blessed already. (And I don’t just mean because s/he will have a personal guard dog either!) 🙂

    • #2 by Christy on June 18, 2013 - 3:15 pm

      Thanks, Maggie! I’m glad you could share in our excitement.

  2. #3 by evliu on June 18, 2013 - 10:47 am

    Congrats, Christy!! I feel like you will be a fun mama

    • #4 by Christy on June 18, 2013 - 3:15 pm

      Thanks, Ev! I hope I’ll be a fun mom!

Leave a Reply

