One Word for 2014

Instead of New Year’s Resolutions, I’ve chosen a word to focus on for 2014. My word for the year is intentional. Specifically, there are a few areas I want to be intentional in:

Marriage: I need to be more intentional in giving Gerald attention as my husband and in focusing on building our relationship, especially now that we have a son who demands much of our attention (mostly mine right now). I need to be intentional in the ways I talk to Gerald and to allow space for some spontaneity in our relationship.

Motherhood: I want to be intentional in spending time with Jaylen and in investing in his life. This is especially important when I go back to to work in March. I want to be present for my son when I’m not working.

Spiritual: I want to be intentional in spending time with God. It’s challenging to do right now with a newborn, but the times that I do get to do a devotion, I want to be very intentional on making that time count.

Family: I’d like to be more intentional about connecting with my family, and specifically my siblings. We’ll have to FaceTime Jaylen’s Uncle Nathan more often so he can see how he’s growing!

Time/Activities: If I want to be intentional about the things listed above, I may need to say no to certain activities or serving opportunities in order to invest my time in the relationships and things that I think matter most.

2013 was quite the eventful year for us. We faced marital challenges, buying a house, getting a dog, having a baby, etc. It was definitely one of the more challenging years of my life. So I’m glad to close the door on 2013 and I’m looking forward to what 2014 will bring.

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

