Grayslake 5k Race Recap

Grayslake5k

 

On Saturday I completed my first postpartum race and my first race with my jogging stroller (the BOB Ironman). I didn’t race at all last year when I was pregnant, so I was excited to get back into it. I didn’t have to worry about setting an alarm for this race because Jaylen woke up on race morning at 6:30 a.m. The race was held in our local downtown area so Gerald and I planned on walking over (about a mile from our house). I also thought it would be a good warm up.

Pre-race

Pre-race

Saturday morning was rainy, but thankfully the rain cleared up before we headed out the door around 7:15. The rain held off until after the race, which was a blessing. We could’ve had a soaking baby otherwise!

My cousin was also running the race (and it happened to be her birthday) so we saw her briefly before the start and then she went up to the front because she’s super fast. I had to start near the back anyway because I was running with the stroller. I know they do that so strollers don’t get in the way, but it’s a lot more challenging to pass people at the beginning of the race when you’re running with a stroller. I was getting stuck behind people a little bit even though I tried to run on the side of the road to pass.

Eventually the pack thinned out. My Garmin watch wouldn’t turn on even though I charged it up (I haven’t used it in a while since for some reason it stopped uploading my runs to my computer…apparently it’s messed up now). So I used my RunKeeper app and had my phone tucked into a pocket on the stroller. So I couldn’t see what my pace or distance was. I know I started slowing down though as the race went on. I haven’t run at that intensity for that long in a while.

Jaylen was great during the whole race. I’m impressed with how content he seemed staying in the stroller for so long. He sat quietly on our walk over to the starting line from home. Then I took him out for a few minutes before the race started. He was awake for the beginning part of the race but then fell asleep about halfway through. It was his nap time, after all. If you zoomed in to the photo at the top of this post you can see Jaylen knocked out in the stroller. Haha.

It was humid and I definitely had to keep pushing myself during the race, but I was trying to save some energy for the last stretch.

Me, Jaylen & cousin Sammy

Me, Jaylen & cousin Sammy

Once I turned the final corner and saw the finish line, I really dug deep and pushed toward that finish line (literally). There was another woman I’d been following during the race who got behind me at one point but then was now catching up, so I was just trying to beat her to the finish, which I did. She told me good job afterwards, but she was probably just impressed that I did that while pushing the stroller. Jaylen woke up right after we crossed the finish line. Apparently 5ks are exhausting! 🙂

My official finish time was 28:40. That’s not close to any kind of personal record for me, but I’m pleased with it considering all my

runs lately (with and without the stroller) have been in the 10 or even 11 min/mile range. This run was my fastest stroller run to date. Not bad for running while pushing about 35 extra pounds in front of me (stroller + baby)!

My cousin Sammy won her age group (no surprise there!) and I actually placed 5th out of 18 in my age group, which isn’t too bad, actually. This little race gave me a confidence boost knowing that I can only improve from here. I plan to do more 5ks in the next few months (both with and without the stroller) through the fall and I’d still like to do the Prairie State Half Marathon in October again, but I need to ramp up my training to be ready for that.

This was the perfect way to celebrate Jaylen’s 7 month birthday. I’m glad we could finish our first race together–hopefully the first of many!

 

Mommy & baby post-race

Mommy & baby post-race

, , , ,

  1. #1 by stayhealthynfit4you on July 14, 2014 - 5:41 pm

    Nice job especially running with a stroller!!

    • #2 by Christy on July 14, 2014 - 7:03 pm

      Thank you! It definitely has it’s challenges.

Leave a Reply

