Race Recap: Long Grove Heritage Run

All the people running/walking for the Mothers' Milk Bank

All the people running/walking for the Mothers’ Milk Bank

This morning we had the perfect running weather (temps in the 50s and sunny). I’ve been running the Long Grove Heritage Run every year since 2009 (with the exception of last year because I was pregnant). It was my first running race ever so it holds a special place in my heart. This is a great local race where lots of charities participate. So when you register, you choose which charity you want to donate to and run (or walk) for. Afterwards they provide a free pancake breakfast for all the participants and this is the only race I know that does age group awards 5 deep…so that’s why the first time I ran it I got an award! It was shocking, but this particular race sure helped to build my self esteem and confidence in running since I’ve won an age group award every time I’ve done it except for this year.

The last time I ran this race in 2011, I won my age group and was definitely a lot faster than I am right now. So I didn’t go into today’s race expecting to set any new personal records or to win an award. My main goal though was to push myself to run faster (trying to keep my pace between 8-9 minutes per mile) so I might have the potential to win an award (based off last year’s results). I also haven’t run that fast consistently for a longer duration since I started running regularly again postpartum.

I ran this race for the Mothers’ Milk Bank of the Western Great Lakes. As a new nursing mom, I wanted to support an organization that works to provide breast milk for mothers and babies that need it. I know how challenging and rewarding breastfeeding can be so for babies and mothers who can’t nurse for some reason, this is a great way for them to get the wonderful benefits of breast milk. I’m sure you can probably still make a donation on my fundraising page if you’d like to support this organization as well. I loved that they even had a little “nursing nook” in their tent. 🙂

Jaylen came with me to the race, but since strollers aren’t allowed on the run, my mom walked with him in the 3k walk while I ran. It was actually nice to do a race without pushing the jogging stroller though. I started out near the front of the starting line and got off to a nice start. I was going a little fast (between 7-8 min/mile), but I felt pretty good. I knew I had to conserve energy though and tried to slow down a little bit. So here are my splits for the race:

Mile 1: 8:10
Mile 2: 8:37
Mile 3: 8:21
Mile 4: 6:27 (for the .1 part…I was pushing it at the end)
Average pace: 8:17

My RunKeeper app was a little off with the race’s mile markers maybe because I started it a little early when I crossed the finish line. So according to the race results, I finished in 26:07 and 9th in my age group. I’m very happy with this result because I proved to myself that I can push myself to run faster longer. Lately on my runs I’ve just been so much slower (like 10-11 minute miles) so it’s encouraging to me. There’s definitely still more room for improvement and hopefully in the future I’ll be able to set some new running personal records.

My little cheerleader!

My little cheerleader!

My next and last race for the year will hopefully be the Prairie State Half Marathon on October 11. I’m training for it and missed my long run today, but I’ll just make it up next weekend and only end up going up to 11 miles as my longest run (which is what I did for my first half anyway and I was fine). No turkey trot this year since we’ll be traveling for Thanksgiving. Happy fall racing season, everyone!

 

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

